... | Home | Gigs | Contact Us | Albums | Videos | Reviews | PressPack | ...

Cathryn Craig

Pigg River Symphony

Purchase CD with PayPal

Price includes post and packing - please select correct destination

United Kingdom 13.00 GBP
Europe 14.00 GBP
USA and rest of the world 15.00 GBP

Track Listing

Click the track title to play a sample

  1. Letter From Uncle Wit
  2. Carry Me Back To Old Virginny
  3. Pop's Fiddle
  4. She'll Be Coming Round The Mountain
  5. Clementine
  6. Red River Valley
  7. Uncle Lou Webb
  8. There Is A Tavern In The Town
  9. Cornbread And Beans
  10. America
  11. Will The Circle Be Unbroken
  12. My Bonnie Lies Over The Ocean
  13. My Father's House
  14. The Webbs
  15. Little Brown Jug
  16. Dancing
  17. Study War No More
  18. The Pump Organ
  19. Amazing Grace
  20. Frankie And Johnny
  21. Sister Susan
  22. Down In The Valley
  23. Dixie

A love letter and a tribute to the musical traditions of my Father's youth. Tracked live direct to mini-disc, these songs, performances and stories are a bare-boned and true document of family life in Appalachia, Franklin County, Virginia at the turn of the twentieth century. Guests on the record are Brian Willoughby, Clive Gregson, Michael Snow, Kathy Chiavola, Adie Grey, Pat McInerney, LeAnn Etheridge, Mary Dawson, Susie Monick, Arvel Bird, Austin Cunningham and the highlights are the family tales that include a real-life encounter with the great Cecil Sharp.
Cathryn Craig

More Albums...

Reviews For "Pigg River Symphony"

"…unimpeachable authenticity…"
The Herald

"…do yourself a favor and indulge…a lovely album that is deserving of a follow-up…"
Craig Baguley' CMP

"…well thought out and charmingly executed…"

"…an all-encompassing masterpiece…a must for anyone interested in American roots music…."
Dave Arcari, Music Scene

"…roots music at its most personal and involving…"
HMV Choice

'…pure and intimate…lifts her work to another level…"

"…this is a masterpiece, REAL country music…"
Bryan Chalker, Radio Caroline

▲ Top of Page

... | Home | Gigs | Contact Us | Albums | Videos | Reviews | PressPack | ...